Leather & Legs

Leather? Really? Yes, leather. That is the word I have been trying to find for a very long time. It is the gamey/earthy/pruney flavor sometimes found in red wines and I learned yesterday what to call it.

Yesterday was the second session of the Introduction to Wine Series I am taking at The Wine and Spirit Archive (WSA). The focus was on aromas and flavors and expanding our wine vocabulary. We tasted some really great wines.

IMG_5340

I couldn’t resist buying some of them to share at home. This is a Weingut Brundlmayer Riesling (Austria) 2013, and a Domaine de la Chanteleuserie Cabernet Franc (France) 2013. The Riesling was so very dry, lemony, and acidic. It had a big warm finish. It will be great with fish or pork. The Cabernet Franc really surprised me too. It was perfectly acidic with low tannins, had some great blackberry tones, and just a mild sour bite.

The most odd selection of the evening was a Fernando de Castilla Amontillado (Spain), from Palomino grapes. I never drink sherry. For me it has always been a cooking wine. So really tasting and analyzing this was strange. I won’t be drinking more of it any time soon, but it did have some good qualities. I loved the butterscotch, almond, vanilla notes. I did not love the salty, smokey flavors. Look at the thick legs it made:

IMG_5337

I’ve had a lot of new wines this week. Join me in experimenting with something new and tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

